Posts: 18
Threads: 3
Joined: Nov 2019
Reputation:
3
Hi, I am developing game with ZX Basic for a Spectrum 48k and when total size of compiled code approach up to 35-36K shit happens. Program can hang on or some pixels on screen are highlighted or INKEY stops to working.
Is there some limit?
I load code at address 24576 (24K) so I thought I have 40K room for free.
Posts: 18
Threads: 3
Joined: Nov 2019
Reputation:
3
11-10-2019, 06:01 PM
(This post was last modified: 11-10-2019, 06:03 PM by Week of the agents.)
TY for answer. I'm not using PRINT, RANDOMIZE even DO LOOP for minimize heap (GOTO everywhere). I already kill half of graphics cos of this ))) Will try your tip.
OK, I've set heap to 1k and continue to develop. Will report any result.
Posts: 18
Threads: 3
Joined: Nov 2019
Reputation:
3
I have my own compress method, but mb can find another. I'd tried to reverse direction with procedure but lost FPS.
Posts: 18
Threads: 3
Joined: Nov 2019
Reputation:
3
I'd tried. But got same shit.
Now, I've rebuilded data structures and tomorrow would continue programming. Will see.
Posts: 18
Threads: 3
Joined: Nov 2019
Reputation:
3
TY for the upgrade. But I'm not using any strings (only for debug).
I'm developing this game for Yandex Retro Games contest 2019.
After it (Dec 12th) I will share links with bas, graphics and additional programs for converting graphics and text data.
Posts: 18
Threads: 3
Joined: Nov 2019
Reputation:
3
Reworked data structures + heap 256b
Posts: 4
Threads: 2
Joined: Apr 2020
Reputation:
0
07-06-2020, 02:03 PM
(This post was last modified: 07-06-2020, 02:20 PM by mauvedeity.)
I'm having a similar problem - I'm using v 1.11.1, and I've already moved the origin down from 32768 to 32000. That helped with the one issue I'm having. The problem is that I'm trying to do a text-based adventure, and I'm only on location 32 of about 90, so I'm clearly going to run out of space completely. I've tried "--optimize 2" and "--heap-size=512" and neither works. I've also tried switching Fuse to emulate a Spectrum 128, but that also didn't work.
Is there a way I can target a Spectrum 128 or Spectrum Next instead, and get extra memory that way? Or is there something else I could do? Thanks in advance.