Declaring arrays with constants (*solved*) - Printable Version +- Forum (https://www.boriel.com/forum) +-- Forum: Compilers and Computer Languages (https://www.boriel.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=12) +--- Forum: ZX Basic Compiler (https://www.boriel.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=11) +---- Forum: Bug Reports (https://www.boriel.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=15) +---- Thread: Declaring arrays with constants (*solved*) (/showthread.php?tid=597) |
Declaring arrays with constants (*solved*) - LTee - 07-21-2014 Hi guys, it's been a little while. I finally got around to upgrading to 1.4.0-s1881 and set about recompiling a bunch of old stuff to see how it turned out. One thing I'm having a problem with is that some of my code uses consts in the declaration of arrays, which was fine in 1.3 but doesn't seem to like compiling in 1.4. e.g. Code: 'constants This fails to compile with an error telling me that I must use a constant (which I thought I did). Code: DunGen.bas:6: Array bound must be a constant expression. Apologies if this has already been covered in here, I didn't have much luck with the search! Re: Declaring arrays with constants - boriel - 07-21-2014 LTee Wrote:Hi guys, it's been a little while. No, it's ok. 1881 was released 48h ago, if I recall correctly. Thanks! Will fix it ASAP! Re: Declaring arrays with constants - LTee - 07-21-2014 Brilliant, thanks Boriel! Re: Declaring arrays with constants - boriel - 07-21-2014 Please, download new version 1.4.0s1885 and tell me. :roll: Re: Declaring arrays with constants - LTee - 07-22-2014 That seems to work perfectly - many thanks! I do think I might have another problem, however.... but I need to investigate that first to make sure it's not me writing rubbish code. Re: Declaring arrays with constants - nitrofurano - 07-22-2014 LTee Wrote:... well, i think what i’m really missing is this: Code: dim dgConnected(DGMAXY, DGMAXX) as ubyte at $E000 so that would take around 121 bytes (11*11 (i guess it’s 11, because it is an array from 0 to 10?) ) starting from $E000 - i’m needing this a lot, because when we patch ZX-Basic resulting binaries to rom files (such as on cartridge roms for Sega 8-bit consoles, ColecoVision, MSX, etc.), we really need to use peeks and pokes instead of arrays, since we can’t allocate arrays outside the rom area i really have no idea how difficult would be implementing it Re: Declaring arrays with constants - boriel - 07-24-2014 nitrofurano Wrote:LTee Wrote:... I'm working on this. Basically, using Dynamic arrays. The problem is arrays also use a dimension table to calculate offset. And it always precedes the data. For dynamic arrays I think the best way is to put the dimension table at the end. Dynamic arrays are created on runtime (just like in basic) and can change the dimension during the execution. |