Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Serious FOR bug in latest dev build s1964
Hi,

First, thanks for the compiler it's my first time playing with it.
I think I've found a nasty bug though.

A FOR loop that goes to 255 causes a hang in latest dev build 1.4.1964. Loops to 254 and 256 etc seem to work OK. It's my first time using the compiler so I don't know if it's a new problem or not. It seems to occur regardless of optimisation level.
Code:
10 FOR n=1 TO 255
20 NEXT n
A portion of the generated asm seems to assume the counter is word sized even though it's just a byte so that may be the problem:
Code:
__LABEL0:
        ld a, 255
        ld hl, (_n - 1)              <-- looks a bit dodgy
        cp h
        jp nc, __LABEL3
I'm running python 2.7.6 btw.
Hope that's enough to investigate it...

Colm
This is not a bug. Look:
Code:
10 FOR n=1 TO 255
20 NEXT n

This will loop until n>255. The problem is, your variable n is defined as UBYTE (or perhaps it's undefined so compiler assumed UBYTE by default?), so you will never get n>255, therefore your loop will repeat forever.

Either replace it with FOR n=0 TO 254 or redefine n as UINTEGER.

Code:
__LABEL0:
        ld a, 255
        ld hl, (_n - 1)              <-- looks a bit dodgy
        cp h
        jp nc, __LABEL3

This code is correct. There's no instruction ld h,(_n) so it's using ld hl,(_n-1) instead, which will affect h in the same way.
It was undefined so it was implicitly defined as UBYTE. And yes it works fine if explicitly defined as UINTEGER.
So not so serious then but I still think it's a minor bug because the compiler is clearly using the FOR range to decide what implicit size n should have - shouldn't it switch to UINTEGER at 255 instead of 256 as it appears to do now?

I accept your explanation of the assembler btw...
ivorget Wrote:It was undefined so it was implicitly defined as UBYTE. And yes it works fine if explicitly defined as UINTEGER.