![]() |
128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S - Printable Version +- Forum (https://www.boriel.com/forum) +-- Forum: Compilers and Computer Languages (https://www.boriel.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=12) +--- Forum: ZX Basic Compiler (https://www.boriel.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=11) +---- Forum: Help & Support (https://www.boriel.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=16) +---- Thread: 128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S (/showthread.php?tid=548) |
128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S - nitrofurano - 05-29-2013 hi everyone! based on the information i found at <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.worldofspectrum.org/faq/reference/128kreference.htm">http://www.worldofspectrum.org/faq/refe ... erence.htm</a><!-- m --> i tried this one: Code: cls and i can't figure out what is going wrong there...- any clue? :S Re: 128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S - nitrofurano - 05-29-2013 now it seems weird why Code: cls works, and Code: sub setmemorypage(ta as ubyte) isn't... :S Re: 128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S - nitrofurano - 05-29-2013 fixed (i think...) Code: sub setmemorypage(ta as uinteger) Re: 128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S - boriel - 05-29-2013 nitrofurano Wrote:fixed (i think...)For what I read in the speccy.org forum, you need to disable interruptions (DI) before bankswitching. If an interrupt enters during bankswitching, the computer might hang, or have unpredictable results. :?: :?: Re: 128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S - LCD - 05-30-2013 Why not use inline ASM? Not tested: Code: sub setmemorypage(ta as ubyte) Re: 128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S - boriel - 05-31-2013 LCD Wrote:Why not use inline ASM? Not tested: This is a perfect case for FASTCALL ![]() Code: sub FASTCALL setmemorypage(ta as ubyte) Re: 128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S - LCD - 05-31-2013 boriel Wrote:Ooops, you are right, I overseen it. Thanks! Generally I prefer 128K USR0 mode because interrupts are not harmful in this mode.LCD Wrote:Why not use inline ASM? Not tested: Re: 128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S - boriel - 05-31-2013 LCD Wrote:Ooops, you are right, I overseen it. Thanks! Generally I prefer 128K USR0 mode because interrupts are not harmful in this mode.128K USR0 :?: What is this mode? (I'm still learning this ![]() Re: 128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S - LCD - 05-31-2013 boriel Wrote:USR0 mode is if you enter in 128 BASIC the command USR0. This resets the machine into 48K ROM but with enabled 128K features like AY or bank switching+second screen.LCD Wrote:Ooops, you are right, I overseen it. Thanks! Generally I prefer 128K USR0 mode because interrupts are not harmful in this mode.128K USR0 :?: What is this mode? You cannot use +3 DOS or RAMDISC commands, but you also don't need to POKE 23388 to switch banks, OUT 32765 is enough. DivIDE also works in this mode on Spectrum 128K machines. Re: 128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S - boriel - 05-31-2013 LCD Wrote:Interesting!!!!boriel Wrote:USR0 mode is if you enter in 128 BASIC the command USR0. This resets the machine into 48K ROM but with enabled 128K features like AY or bank switching+second screen.LCD Wrote:Ooops, you are right, I overseen it. Thanks! Generally I prefer 128K USR0 mode because interrupts are not harmful in this mode.128K USR0 :?: What is this mode? Could it be possible to start this mode without resetting the RAM? I mean: Executing a program in 128K mode in ZXBASIC and the program manages in some way to enter that mode an continue execution? Seems a good start. Another question: I guess +2 ROM won't be available. Will it be? Re: 128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S - LCD - 06-02-2013 boriel Wrote:Interesting!!!!Maybe switching to the 48K ROM and jumping in the 48K Editor routine will do the job... I think, the topic was discussed on WOS before. boriel Wrote:Another q#uestion: I guess +2 ROM won't be available. Will it be?It won't be available unless you page it in. RE: 128k memory paging, how can we do that? :S - RandomiserUsr - 04-24-2021 So it's 2021 and I wonder if 1) The below worked ? 2) If there is any further news on opening up ZXB to 128K ? Thanks Ken |