Forum
Dealing with "Out of Memory" errors - Printable Version

+- Forum (https://www.boriel.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Compilers and Computer Languages (https://www.boriel.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Forum: ZX Basic Compiler (https://www.boriel.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+---- Forum: Help & Support (https://www.boriel.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=16)
+---- Thread: Dealing with "Out of Memory" errors (/showthread.php?tid=1034)

Dealing with "Out of Memory" errors - georgeo - 03-08-2021

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to ZXBASIC, though think I have mostly got the hang of things and am using it to write a new game.

I am seeing intermittent Out of Memory issues (when compiling with --debug-memory), which I believe means I am running out of heap space. However, I've tried increasing the heap quite significantly (e.g., up to 8 kb) with little effect. I've also tried reducing the dependence on string arrays/ variables, in case this was the problem.

If I see an intermittent Out of Memory error mid-way through a program, long after most variables should have been defined, will it be heap-related or could it be something else?

Any suggestions for debugging my code, or properly sizing the heap, would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Georgeo.

RE: Dealing with "Out of Memory" errors - RandomiserUsr - 03-08-2021

Hi,
I am new too :-) but what is your compile cmd?
I use this at the moment as my program I writing is heavy on strings

zxbc myprog.bas --tzx --BASIC --autorun --heap=8192 --optimize 2 --org=25000 --debug-memory --debug-array --mmap=memory_%1.txt

Not sure if this helps?

RE: Dealing with "Out of Memory" errors - georgeo - 03-08-2021

Hi RandomiserUsr,

Up until now, I've been using something like this:

zxbc --org 26000 -t --strict --debug-memory --heap 6144 -B -a galacticon.bas

--though have tried varying the heap size from 4096 up to 8192 (at the highest level, I get out of memory almost immediately) and also the origin address.